Staying organized with CSS

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Staying organized with CSS Empty Staying organized with CSS

Post by Guest 1/30/2015, 9:42 am

I've been an admin on some websites before and it shocked me the way admins just drop in lines in CSS and over time lose track of everything. I decided to not let myself into the way they were being an 'admin' and stay organized.

What is CSS?

CSS stands for Cascading Style Sheet
    CSS defines how HTML elements are to be displayed
    Styles were added to HTML 4.0 to solve a problem
    CSS saves a lot of work
    External Style Sheets are stored in CSS files

In other words: CSS makes it possible for the founder and admin(s) to style their website and keep it neat and pretty.

Where can I find it?

Your CSS can be found in your Admin Control Panel (or ACP in short). You will find the link at the bottom of the index page and can only be accessed with admin privileges. Click it to access it. Now go to the "Display" tab. On the left you'll see a menu called "Pictures and Colors" and in it is a link called "Colors". Hit that and on your right side click the "Cascading Style Sheet" (CSS) tab. Below that, you'll find your CSS.

Building it all up

I organized my CSS into 3 different blocks:

1. Forum layout and settings << This is the main body actually, the 'naked' forum will look like.
  2. Topics Posts and User(s) Profiles << This is the about the forums, posts, topics, user settings.
  3. Chatbox settings << This is your chatbox styling CSS.

and added 2 empty lines in between each block to separate them. Each block has a clear header and footer.

Example header:

[css]
Code:
/*****************************************************************/
/**** FORUM LAYOUT AND SETTINGS **********************************/
/*****************************************************************/

Example footer:

[css]
Code:
/**** END FORUM LAYOUT AND SETTINGS ******************************/